AC&C barbershop contest {aloha}

1 May
This past weekend I was in Montreal for the AC&C contest for Harmony, Inc, a women’s barbershop group. The theme was Aloha and it was a super fun weekend!
My mom, my friend Sam, and I drove up on Thursday. It should have taken between 5 and 6 hours. However, it took us about 10 hours because we got stuck in Manchester for 3 hours. We were driving along and all of a sudden my mom’s car started going a little crazy. The battery light came on and the temperature gauge was going up and it was making some noises. Luckily, we were right by a bunch of car dealerships. So we pulled into the Jeep one to find out what was wrong. It was the water pump. So we took a rental car to the mall for a couple hours while we were waiting. At least there was somewhere we could go to kill some time.

On Friday, we didn’t really have much to do during the day. We exercised, had lunch, and Sam and I headed to the huge mall across the street to kill some more time. Friday night was the quartet contest. Quartets are 4 people singing in harmony. My mom competed with her quartet, Vibe. They used puppets for their performance. It was so hilarious! The quartet ended up coming in last because they got zeros in the presentation category due to some technical things having to do with their curtain for the puppets but they still had a blast and everyone loved them. That night, we had some fun posing the puppets….

they were sad about losing...

Saturday was the chorus contest. My mom directs the Sounds of the Seacoast chorus and Sam and I sing in the chorus. This was my first time competing with this chorus and it was so much fun! And we won! Which is amazing. This is the 3rd year in a row that the chorus has won the area contest. We won and qualified to go to the international contest which is in November in Florida. Yay!

Saturday night was a dinner and show. Everyone dressed up in their best Aloha gear and we had a HUGE 4 course dinner. The 1st place quartet sang and we sang because we were the 1st place chorus. A few other groups also sang. It was a really long dinner but it was fun seeing everyone dress up.

my cousin Julia

Sam, Julia, & I in our aloha gear

my mom & I

After the dinner, everyone parties. Usually the choruses have party rooms and the quartets can go around and sing for everyone. I think I made it til 1 am when I had to go to bed because I was so tired.

On our way home on Sunday, we decided to stop at Chutter’s in Littleton, NH because they have the longest candy counter in the world! Someone in the chorus had stopped there on their way up to contest and told us about it. It was amazing how much candy they had!

Our car ride home took a normal amount of time which I was really happy about beacuse I was ready for bed when I got back to the apartment. Overall, it was a very fun weekend and I can’t wait for the next one!
4 Responses to “AC&C barbershop contest {aloha}”

  1. Amanda May 1, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    This sounds like way too much fun! What a weekend! I didn’t know you could sing! I wish I could, but, not so much. lol. And the candy store?!? My word!

    • delightfullyteal May 1, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      It is definitely a lot of fun! I don’t think I can sing really well…like I don’t feel comfortable singing by myself but I do pretty well in a big group. :) And the candy store was amazing! Thanks!

  2. Hannah May 1, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    Wow, heaps of action! I am always SO petrified of car trouble on a long trip… so glad you were able to get it fixed so fast.

    Congrats on winning!! Woot! And the after party looked crazy!

    • delightfullyteal May 1, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

      That was the first time we’ve ever had car trouble but it was nice to be where we were and not in the middle of no where.
      And thank you so much!!

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 393 other followers

