Teaching Tomorrow

29 Aug

I went to school to be an elementary school teacher. I haven’t been able to find a job yet but last year I was a teacher assistant for 5th grade in a middle school in the area. I worked in all the classrooms but one more than the others. That teacher had a baby in June and is taking her maternity leave time this fall, until Christmas vacation. Since I already worked in the school, and didn’t get another teaching job, they decided I could cover for her class while she is on maternity leave. I wish I had gotten my own classroom position this year but, since I didn’t, this is excellent teaching experience for me to put on my resume.

The first day of school with the kids is tomorrow and I am really, really nervous. This is my first real teaching on my own experience. I know the first few days are more introducing everything and going slow so I know it will be fine. I think I just have this  feeling like all the students are going to be out of control and I’m not going to be able to fix it. Plus, because of Hurricane Irene, the school was closed today so I couldn’t go in to get all my last-minute stuff together and organized, which stressed me out a little more. I was able to get things done here but it isn’t the same as actually being in the classroom. I will just get there extra early in the morning to make sure everything is set. Then I will meet my class of 19 5th graders and begin our 4 months together.

I hope to blog about any fun teaching ideas, activities, or lessons I come up with. Or if anyone has any excellent lesson ideas for 5th grade reading, writing, math, or science, definitely let me know!

3 Responses to “Teaching Tomorrow”

  1. Susan Dee August 29, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow! Your students are lucky to have you, even if it’s only for the next four months. Looking forward to reading about your journey. Don’t forget to read aloud every day! Sorry, couldn’t help myself! 😉

    Susan

    • delightfullyteal August 29, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      Thank you Susan! And I will try my best to read aloud every day! I already have that in my head! 🙂 But thanks for the reminder!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back to School « - September 5, 2011

    […] Teaching Tomorrow (delightfullyteal.wordpress.com) […]

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

