1st Day of Teaching

30 Aug

So today was my first day of teaching 5th grade for my long-term sub job. The day actually went pretty well and better than I expected. I was really nervous leading up to this morning and as the kids came in, I didn’t feel quite so nervous. We did all easy, getting to know you, first day of school activities. Things were going quicker than expected and I felt like I was running out of things to do but it all ended up working out in the end. I feel pretty good at the end of the day.

We made fabulous self-portraits today. Most of them came out really well. I already hung them up on our bulletin board.

I even made one of myself while the students were working on theirs. (I know it is kind of light…I colored it with colored pencils)

I also put together our schedule and laminated it so we know what is going on during our day.

So overall, I think the day went pretty well. I’m looking forward to the next few months of learning more about my teaching style and having this experience.

2 Responses to “1st Day of Teaching”

  1. Laurie September 1, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Wait so recess is only 15 minutes. How unfair. I think it was at least a half hour to 45 minutes for us.

  2. delightfullyteal September 2, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    Well in elementary school they have a longer recess but we’re in middle school so they only get a short one. They could probably use a longer one though. haha.

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

