tattoos {to honor my grandmother}

17 Apr
When my grandmother passed away in February, I knew immediately that I wanted to do something in her honor, and I was pretty sure I wanted that thing to be a tattoo. I thought and thought about ideas, trying to come up with something really special. But nothing seemed special enough.
At some point, I came up with a great idea. I don’t even know where the idea came from but I’m so glad it came to me. The idea was to get the words “love you” in her handwriting. I found a card from her that had those words in it and I knew it was perfect.

I told my mom about the idea and she loved it and wanted to do the same thing. So of course we decided to go together. I couldn’t wait. I was so excited. We finally went on Sunday and it was amazing. We went to Congress St. Tattoo in Portsmouth, NH. The tattoo artist, Beth, was so friendly and awesome. I’m going to suggest that any other family members that want the tattoo should go to her.

I have 2 other tattoos and this one definitely hurt the most out of all 3 but it really wasn’t too bad. I had to breath deep a couple times but it only took about 10 minutes so it was fine.
I absolutely love the tattoo. It is soo perfect. And I’m so glad I went with my mom and we got to share the experience together.

I miss my grandmother soo much and I still can’t believe she is gone but I know this is the perfect tribute to her and I get to see it all the time.

Plus, a bonus, I was also glad to be able to cross something off of my 30 by 30. Yay!

 

9 Responses to “tattoos {to honor my grandmother}”

  1. Amanda April 17, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    Brittany! This is such a wonderful, warm idea! I’m sure your grandma is smiling down and loving it as much as you. From her hands to your wrist—what a special thing 🙂

    • delightfullyteal April 17, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      Thanks so much Amanda! I know she is smiling down. She would absolutely love it. ❤

  2. Chrystal April 17, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    Brit, I love this post and it was hard not get teary. I know how much she meant to you and understand the loss. I still think of my grandmother each day and sometimes forget that I can talk to her each day. I love the of taking her words putting it on your arm! Love you to pieces.

    Chrystal

  3. Hannah April 17, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    That, Brittany, is the most gorgeous tattoo I have ever seen, with the most heartful meaning. And I couldn’t think of a more perfect idea than your grandmother’s own handwriting! So brilliant! It’s like she wrote it on your arm herself. xxx love!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 by 30 {6 month update} « delightfully teal - August 19, 2012

    […] 14. get at least one new tattoo {completed 4.15.12} […]

  2. 30 by 30 {halfway point update} | live happy - August 19, 2013

    […] get at least one new tattoo {completed 4.15.12} […]

  3. 30 by 30 {2 year update} | live happy - February 25, 2014

    […] get at least one new tattoo {completed 4.15.12} […]

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

