celebration of a wonderful life {DeDe}

24 Apr
On Sunday we celebrated the life of my grandmother. My grandmother passed away at the end of February. My grandparents decided a long time ago that they didn’t want a funeral. They didn’t want people to be sad. They wanted to have parties to celebrate their wonderful lives. So that is what we did.
We had the celebration at the Seacoast Repertory Theater. DeDe was a big part of this theater. She ran a senior acting group, Senior Moments, that was a part of the theater. After DeDe passed, the theater decided to dedicate their whole season to her. Her picture is on the first page of every program.

The celebration was amazing. Sooo many people came. You could just feel the love because she touched so many peoples’ lives. Some members of Senior Moments read some columns that DeDe had written. Some people spoke and told stories. My mom’s chorus sang. Some people from the theater sang. And my amazing brother sang his songs he wrote for DeDe. It was a wonderful way to celebrate DeDe’s life and I know she loved the whole day.
There was a guest book that people could write little messages in. I read a few and they were all so sweet. I know everyone loved my grandmother.
I wrote:
DeDe,
You are one of the most amazing people I’ve ever met. You have always been my hero and you are more now than ever. I will love and cherish all our wonderful memories and be sure to share them with my kids someday. I miss you ever single day. I love you with everything I have.
Love, Brittany

I know there are a million things I could’ve written but it is so hard to put it all into words. I miss her more than words can say but I know she is around me every day.
I love you DeDe. ❤
2 Responses to “celebration of a wonderful life {DeDe}”

  1. Hannah April 24, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    What a wonderful way to celebrate her life. She sounds like one amazingly beautiful, influencing person. x

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

