couch to 5k {three weeks down, six to go}

22 May
I finished up the 3rd week of the couch to 5k program that I am doing. I felt like this week was a little harder. My shins have been bugging me while I’ve been running and I’m not really sure why. They weren’t bothering me before when I was running occasionally with Dan. Maybe because I’m doing it more often? Or maybe just because I’m running after work and my body is tired? I don’t know. I’ve been trying to stretch more and hopefully that will help.
This past week was a brisk 5 minute warmup walk, jogging for 90 seconds, walking for 90 seconds, jogging for 3 minutes, walking for 3 minutes, then repeating the jogging and walking.
Next week the jogging goes up to 5 minutes and I’m a little nervous about that. I’m sure I can do it though….I just have to push myself.
Also, on a side note, I created the team for the 5k I’m planning on doing. The team is called Team DeDe for my grandmother. We’re going to make awesome t shirts and everything. It will be great and I know she will love it.
Hope everyone is having a good week so far.
3 Responses to “couch to 5k {three weeks down, six to go}”

  1. Hannah May 22, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    Wow, the heat is amping up now! You’re progressing heaps!
    Sorry to hear about your shins… it’s awful exercising when things hurt so you should probably try and find out why it is… have you got new runners or ones you’ve had for a while? Because if you jog or run a lot, the support in runners deminishes faster. Maybe treat yourself to a new extra supportive pair.

    • delightfullyteal May 22, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

      They aren’t new sneakers. I’ve had them for awhile but I’ve only been running on a regular basis recently. I’m hoping if I keep stretching them more, it will help. We will see.
      Thanks for the support Hannah! You’re the best!

  2. PushDumpFatButton May 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

