couch to 5k {five weeks down, four to go}

5 Jun
Things have been soo crazy recently. We went away for the weekend to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. It was amazing but more on that later. I feel like I haven’t had time to post much. I finally got a phone back yesterday so that is taken care of. So there will be more photo friday posts coming. I also want to finish our wedding posts and I have one more memorial day weekend post. Hopefully I can get that all done this week.
Anyway, on Sunday I completed the 5th week of the couch to 5k program. This past week, each day was different. I did fine until the 3rd day.
The first day was a 5 minute warm up walk, jog for 5 minutes, walk for 3 minutes, jog for 5 minutes, walk for 3 minutes, jog for 5 minutes, and a 5 minute cool down walk. This seemed pretty easy for me.
The second day was a 5 minute warm up walk, jog for 8 minutes, walk for 5 minutes, jog for 8 minutes, and a 5 minutes cool down walk. This was a little more difficult. I had to push myself at the end to finish the 2nd 8 minute jog. But I did it and I was proud of my self.
The third day was a 5 minute warm up walk, jog for 20 minutes, and a 5 minute cool down walk. I thought going from 8 minutes to 20 minutes was a big difference and I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to do it. And I was right. I couldn’t do the 20 minutes. I did this day while we were away and it was really misty and windy and chilly so I don’t think that helped. I ran 11 minutes, walked for 1 minute, ran 5 minutes, walked for about 30 secs, then ran about a minute back to the b&b. I wanted to go farther so I could at least get the same amount of time in but I was getting so soaked from the weather that I just decided to go back. I am proud of myself for running 16 minutes with only a 1 minute walking break.
This week coming up is 5 & 8 minutes, 10 minutes, then up to 25 minutes. I feel like it is going up really fast. Then after that it is 25 minutes for 3 days, 28 minutes for 3 days, then 30 minutes for 3 days. I do like how the program has built up so far but I don’t like that it is just going up to 25 minutes and that is it. I think Dan is going to try and come up with a schedule for me that would work better for me for the next 4 weeks. We will see how it goes.
2 Responses to “couch to 5k {five weeks down, four to go}”

  1. Hannah R June 5, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    Well done! 20mins is a long time, and on an awful day, probably doubley hard. Do you have access to a treadmill that you might be able to do your kms indoors?

    Just think how you’re so much fitter since you started!

    • delightfullyteal June 7, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Thank you! I do have a gym membership but I prefer trying to do it outside, especially since the weather has been nicer.

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

