couch to 5k {eight weeks down, two to go}

26 Jun
I am getting close to the end of this program and I’m glad.
I was very proud of myself this week. I ran the longest amount of time that I have run and I felt great. I was also running a new route because I’m getting bored with the old one. Dan has been running this route so I started the new one this week.
The 1st day was walk 3 minutes, run 12 minutes, walk 3 minutes, run 12 minutes, walk 3 minutes.
This day was really hot. I went first thing in the morning and it was already about 90 degrees. I think the heat affected me. I was having a little trouble with my breathing. I ran the first 12 minutes fine but had a little harder time with the second 12 minutes. There is a hill towards the end of the route and I had to stop at the top of the hill and walk for a little bit. I was a little disappointed that I couldn’t run the whole 12 minutes but I only walked for about 40 seconds so it wasn’t too bad.
The 2nd day was walk 3 minutes, run 12 minutes, walk 3 minutes, run 14 minutes, walk 3 minutes.
I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to run 14 minutes after I had to stop and walk during the 12 minutes. However, I made it the whole 14 minutes without stopping to walk, even going up the hill. I was so proud of myself. Dan ran with me this day and I think that might have helped because I push myself harder when he is with me.
The 3rd day was walk 3 minutes, run 12 minutes, walk 2 minutes, run 14 minutes, walk 3 minutes.
I did the 3rd day today. I reversed the route just to mix it up and that meant the hill was more towards the beginning and it was downhill. I felt ok today but I did have a hard time towards the end of the 14 minutes. I made it the whole way though!
I feel really good after finishing this week. I feel like I am really starting to be able to run a good amount of time and it feels great! Every day has been about 3 miles and that feels good because I feel like I will be able to run the 5k. I would love to be able to run the entire 5k. I guess we will see. 
I’m a little nervous about the next week. The first run is 20 minutes. Dan says if I run 14 minutes, I can run 20 but I’m not so sure. I will try my best to do the whole 20 minutes. Last time I had to do 20 minutes, I couldn’t do it. I really hope I can this time and I will push myself to finish. I will keep you guys posted!
2 Responses to “couch to 5k {eight weeks down, two to go}”

  1. Hannah June 26, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    amazing! looking back, are you amazed how far you’ve come from day one? Results are the best!

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

