couch to 5k {ten weeks down, zero to go}

16 Jul
I have finished my 10 weeks of my couch to 5k program. I finished 5 weeks of the actual program and 5 more weeks of Dan’s program that he came up with for me. I am so proud of myself. I know I still have a long way to go but I feel incredible having finished 10 weeks of a running program.
This last week was definitely the hardest with the longest running times.
The first day was walk 3 minutes, run 30 minutes, walk 2 minutes, run 4 minutes, walk 3 minutes.
I had a hard time on this day. I ran the whole 30 minutes, which I was so proud about, but it was hard. I don’t know if it was the heat or that I waited 3 days since my last run, but I had to push myself really hard. And I did it. I didn’t run any more after the 30 minutes and just walked back to the car.
The second day was walk 3 minutes, run 34 minutes, walk 2 minutes, run 4 minutes, walk 3 minutes.
I ran the full 34 minutes which was just about a 5k. That makes me feel so good because I know I can actually run an entire 5k.  After the 34 minutes, I walked 3 minutes and ran another minute and then walked back to the car.
The third day was walk 3 minutes, run 40 minutes, walk 3 minutes.
I did not run a full 40 minutes. I walked 3 minutes and ran 22 minutes. My leg started to hurt while I was running and I felt really tired. I pushed myself but had to stop because of my leg. I ran the 22 minutes then walked and ran off and on til I got back to the car. I was somewhat disappointed that I wasn’t able to do the full 40 minutes. I know I will get there though.
Today I decided to go for a run just to go for a run. It was a little weird not having a certain goal in mind but it was also kind of nice. It was a little hot so I wasn’t planning on going really far. And my leg started to hurt again. So I walked 2 minutes, ran 22 minutes, walked 2 minutes, ran 3 minutes and walked 1 minute back to the car. I know I will get to a point where I can run further, I just need to keep up with the running and keep pushing myself.
My original goal for the 5k was to run more then I walk. Now that I basically ran a 5k and knowing that I still have 2 months to train, my new goal is to run the entire 5k. I know that I can do it and it makes me really excited.
I will definitely keep posting about my running. It helps keep me motivated knowing that I am sharing it with whoever is reading this. 🙂
13 Responses to “couch to 5k {ten weeks down, zero to go}”

  1. vanevolence July 16, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    It takes a lot of courage to do what you’re doing. I don’t think I could do it, at least not at this point in my life, maybe after the kids are bigger. Keep up the good work!

  2. Chrystal July 16, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    Awesome job Brittany!!! You rock! I can’t wait until I get to that point where I am running, but right now I am walking around town every night and working up to the point of a run! Good Luck! Miss you!!

    • delightfullyteal July 16, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      Thanks! I’m sure you will get to that point. Just keep at it!! I know you can do it. Love you and miss you!!

  3. agirlrunner July 16, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    GREAT JOB!! When I first started running, I could barely run 3/4 of a mile without wanting to stop. I completed my first marathon in Nov, having run the first 13.3 miles without stopping. You will get there and you will gain the most amazing love/hate relationship with running. Good luck in your future training!

    • delightfullyteal July 16, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

      Thank you so much! It is nice to hear from another runner. It gives me hope that I will be able to continue doing better.

      • agirlrunner July 16, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

        It’s actually a natural occurrence that the more you run, the faster you get. It just happens. You will get better and it’ll actually happen quickly!

      • delightfullyteal July 16, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

        That makes sense! Thank you for the encouragement!

      • agirlrunner July 16, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

        I needed all the help I could get when I first started so I have all kinds of odd little facts.

  4. Amanda July 16, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Good work Birttany! I am so impressed! Keep it up, the results are worth it, you looks fabulous 🙂

  5. Hannah July 16, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Wow… how far you’ve come!!! Goes to show that we can do anything we put our mind too. Well done!!

    • delightfullyteal July 16, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks Hannah! And you have been here all along. Thank you so much for all your kind words.

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

