do it yourself {dry erase calendar}

16 Jul
Dan and I have been talking about having a big calendar that we can write things on because so much has been going on. We have a wall hanging one but we don’t write anything on it and there isn’t really a lot of space. I saw this dry erase calendar on Pinterest, which is from The Aesthetic Writer, and decided to give it a try.

I got a 16×20  poster frame that was 50% off at Joann’s. I also went to Home Depot and got a bunch of free paint chips. I decided to use yellow because I figured it would be light so we could see what we write clearly. I didn’t love the selection of yellow but I found enough. I got 6 colors and 4 of each color. I knew I could get 2 blocks out of each paint chip. I used a paper cutter to cut the blocks so they would be even. I cut them 2 inches by 2.5 inches.

I cut 6 of each color so I ended up with 36 blocks. I only needed 35 so I didn’t use one. I opened the frame and used the back of the paper that came in the frame. I laid out the edge so I could see how far apart to space the blocks. I glued the edge down then laid out the rest of the blocks and glued those down. I had a space at the bottom that I left white. I figured we could write notes or anything important from the next month. I wrote the days of the week above the blocks on the white. Then I put the paper back in the frame.

I bought an eraser and bright colored dry erase markers because I think they’re more fun. I wanted to put them next to the calendar so I made a little pocket to hang on the wall out of scrapbook paper. I just used a half sheet of paper, folded a bottom up and folded the sides around and taped it closed. Then I tacked it to the wall with flat thumb tacks. The stuff fit in perfectly without me checking before finishing it, so it worked out perfect.

At the apartment right now, we didn’t have many choices on where to hang the calendar. I wanted it somewhere it was easy to get to so we could write on it easily. We decided on the kitchen. There is an ugly phone jack right in the middle of the wall and this frame didn’t fit over it, so we had to put it next to it. It works for now and when we have a house, I’m sure we will have a nicer place to hang it.
I wrote the dates with a dry erase marker and the things we have going on this month. So now all we will have to change is the dates each month and add all of our activities. I love the way it turned out. And if we use it a lot and love the way it is, I would love to find a nice frame for it. This will work for us for now.
What do you guys think?

 

4 Responses to “do it yourself {dry erase calendar}”

  1. Hannah July 16, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    That’s so smart!! And I love the different shades of yellow. Nice project!

  2. Amanda July 16, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Very clever boots! Looks great girlie!

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

