getting healthy {clean eating and motivation}

17 Jul

 

Part of my motivation this week is to really try eating a lot healthier. I’m surrounded by people who have been losing weight, like my brother who has lost over 100 pounds and Dan who has lost about 20 pounds. I’ve been running and exercising but it hasn’t really made a difference. I’ve been going up and down in weight within 5 pounds. I know that for me, a lot of losing weight is about what I eat. And I haven’t been eating awful but not that great either. 
So I decided that I need to pay a lot more attention to what I’m eating. I’ve been seeing a lot about clean eating on Pinterest. I’ve decided to try clean eating. I know I can’t do it 100% of the time, but I can do it most of the time. Dan and I went grocery shopping on Sunday and I bought a lot of fruits, veggies, chicken and beans. Yesterday I ate really well and so far today I have eaten really well. I need to find some recipes for meals because as of right now I feel like I mostly have snacks. I know it will take a little bit to really get into it but I know I can do it.
Dan isn’t as conscious about what he eats right now and I have a hard time when there are junk foods at the apartment. I have a good willpower at the store, but at the apartment….not so much. So I decided to hang some motivational signs up to help me.

on my bulletin board

on our fridge to stop me before I reach for something

I found lots of motivational sayings on pinterest. I could hang them all up but I thought these 4 were good for now.
I also found:

I am definitely going to look for some delicious recipes and I plan on sharing them on here. I also plan on sharing my progress. We will see how this goes.
Does anyone else have similar issues as me? Is anyone clean eating? Any ideas for me?

 

10 Responses to “getting healthy {clean eating and motivation}”

  1. SAMANTHA July 17, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Great post! Good luck to you on your journey! I have found that juicing and making smoothies is a easy way to get a boost of vitamins and nutrients while leaving you full and satisfied! Check out my blog for some tips http://manfonhealth.wordpress.com/ and good luck!

    • delightfullyteal July 17, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

      Thank you so much! I will definitely check out your blog! 🙂

  2. Hannah July 17, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Fantastic!! Yep, clean eating is really where it starts so your body can actually use fat to fuel your running, instead of just the calories from that chocolate bar.

    I try to eat clean most of the time, though I’ve been pretty bad lately. The rule of thumb I go by for meals is mainly PROTEIN and VEGGIES. Skip the grains and carbs. I don’t make white potatoes with a roast (just pumpkin and some sweet potato). I don’t have spaghetti with my bolognise (I usually put it on a bed of shredded lettuce, or make zucchini spaghetti with this little tool I have). I don’t eat bread at all (except when I’m naughty). I take leftovers from the night before to work the next day for lunch, to save making a sandwich.

    There is an amazing website I follow called http://www.beyonddiet.com/BD which I REALLY recommend signing up to. Isabel is such an insipriational lady and she sends emails every week with meal ideas and how to eat healthy on a budget. There are heaps of articles and thousands of recipes! I bought a DVD from her, so access to the recipes is free for me, but I’m not sure if you will have to get a membership to see them. VERY worth it!

    • delightfullyteal July 17, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      Thank you so much for the tips Hannah! And I will definitely check out that website! I will let you know how it goes!

  3. Amanda July 20, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    The signs are a great idea! I hung a photo of a giant disgusting character from an old movie on my fridge, and it keeps me out of there when I’m bored at night 😉 lol.

    • delightfullyteal July 20, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      lol. Whatever works, right?? I’ve actually been doing really great this week so something is working. 🙂

  4. bostonceltics34 July 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    I thought you looked like you lost a lot of weight when I saw you today! It will come off just keep up what you are doing and watch what your eating and you will be skinny mini before you know it! I know you can do it!

    • delightfullyteal July 21, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      I have a lost a few pounds. Thanks! I know I just have to keep it up. 🙂 You too! We can keep each other motivated!!

      • bostonceltics34 July 22, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

        This really does have to be a team effort! This losing weight thing is harder than putting it on! ❤

      • delightfullyteal July 23, 2012 at 10:55 am #

        It is definitely harder. haha. 🙂 Go team!

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

