do it yourself {fabric covered shoe box lids}

22 Aug
I found this idea on Pinterest a while ago…like way back when I started Pinterest. When we got a big canvas wedding picture, I knew this would be a great idea to go around the canvas because they would stick out from the wall similarly. I made 3 right away because we happened to have some shoe box lids laying around. The wall stayed like that for a while. I knew I wanted more but we didn’t buy any shoes for a while. Eventually, we had 4 more shoe box lids so I decided to make some more.
I went to Joann’s and bought a few fabric quarters that all went together with what was already on the wall. All the fabric was yellow/black/gray/white. I think they go together great without them matching exactly.

I got my trusty hot glue gun out to heat up. I cut the fabric so match each lid. Then I wrapped each one like a present and  glued each side tightly so the front on the lid is nice and tight.

When I first hung the first lids up, Dan just put a nail in the wall and we hung the lid right on the nail. When we had a strong fan blowing in that direction, they would sometimes fall off the wall and on to our heads in the middle of the night. So I decided to needed to make something to hang them with. I had some cardboard laying around and just made these little squares. I cut a square, folded it in half, poked a hole in it, and hot glued it to the side where I wanted to top to be. They work really well for such a simple thing.

Here are the 4 new ones I made. I love all of the fabrics together. And they match really well with the ones that were already on the wall.

Here is our finished wall with canvas picture and fabric covered shoe box lids. I really love the way the whole wall looks together.

I think it would look really cool with a ton of lids on the wall at all different heights. Maybe some day when we have a house and don’t mind putting so many holes in the wall, we can do more. I love this for now though, and it looks great over our bed.
What do you guys think?
3 Responses to “do it yourself {fabric covered shoe box lids}”

  1. Hannah August 22, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    It looks FABULOUS!! So crafty. x And you’ve picked some really great colours!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 4 – DIY Necklace Hanger | Cassandra's Blog - October 7, 2012

    […] (Clicking on the picture will take you to the website for the tutorial). […]

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

