first day of school {today}

28 Aug
Today was the first day of school with the kids. I was feeling really nervous. I am doing a long term sub job again this year. The teacher who had a baby last year, Ryan, is having another baby and I am covering her maternity leave again. She hasn’t had her baby yet. She is due in a couple of weeks. We’re both working in the classroom until she leaves. She wants me to be completely in charge, which makes sense. I was feeling kind of weird about it because it is her room and her things and having her still there was making me uncomfortable. I know her really well and it wasn’t her specifically. It is hard to explain.
Today I was mostly in charge in the classroom. Ryan was in the room but she stayed mostly in the back and only jumped in when I was missing something when explaining the hand book and things like that. It worked out really well. And I felt much more comfortable.
The class I had last year was so awful. However, this year, they seem to be much better. At least as of right now. I know it was only the first day but they seem like really good kids. Which makes me so happy. I really want to have a better year this year. So far so good.
I got tons of compliments on my outfit today so I thought I would share. I know the pictures aren’t that great but we don’t have a good “take a picture of yourself” place.

I got this dress at Target a couple weeks ago for $12.50! It came with a skinny string that matched the dress. I had this black ribbon hanging in my closet. I think it was from another piece of clothing. I tied that around my waist and I think it looked much better.
It was super hot today so I knew I needed to have my hair up. I braided around the side and did a messy bun in the back.

I feel much better going back tomorrow after how well today went. Hopefully the whole year will go this well. Fingers crossed.

 

2 Responses to “first day of school {today}”

  1. hannah August 28, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    I’m so glad your new class is better than your last one! Once Ryan is out of the way, you’ll soon command the space! It will be fun πŸ™‚

    Your outfit is lovely!

    • delightfullyteal August 28, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

      Thanks so much Hannah! It will be fun, especially if they are a good class. πŸ™‚

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

