pinned it. tried it. {recipe: crusted honey mustard chicken}

2 Sep

 

On my 30 by 30 list I have to get better at cooking. Dan usually does most of the cooking but I have been trying to be better about doing more cooking. I think when I have a recipe to follow, I do pretty well. I’m just not very creative to come up with my own delicious meals. Anyway, I’ve been pinning a ton of meal ideas on Pinterest. I have tried a few over the past couple weeks so I decided to post about them.
Here is the first one:
crusted honey mustard chicken from weightwatchers.com
{ingredients}

  • 1 spray(s) cooking spray   
  • 2/3 cup(s) lite honey mustard dressing   
  • 1/8 tsp table salt   
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper   
  • 2 tsp dill, freshly chopped   
  • 1 medium uncooked scallion(s), finely sliced   {I didn’t use any scallions}
  • 1 cup(s) cornflake crumbs   
  • 1 pound(s) uncooked boneless skinless chicken breast(s), four 4 oz pieces
{instructions}
  • Preheat oven to 425°F. Coat a shallow pan with cooking spray.
  • In a small bowl, combine honey mustard dressing, salt, pepper, dill and scallions; remove 1/3 cup and set aside.

  • Place cornflake crumbs in a shallow bowl. Dip chicken into dressing mixture and then cornflake crumbs; place in prepared pan.

  • Bake until chicken is golden and no longer pink in center, about 15 minutes.
  • Drizzle remaining dressing mixture (the 1/3 cup that was set aside) over chicken breasts and serve. Yields 1 piece of chicken and about 1 1/3 tablespoons of dressing per serving.

This chicken was delicious. It was super moist and I love using the honey mustard sauce under the cornflakes because you can really taste it better. The only problem was that the cornflakes on the bottom didn’t really stay on very well. The cornflakes on top were nice and crunchy though. I’m not sure how you would fix that. Overall, this was a fabulous dinner and we will definitely be making it again.

 

2 Responses to “pinned it. tried it. {recipe: crusted honey mustard chicken}”

  1. hannah September 2, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Looks wonderful! I tried cornflake crumbs once before too and it was fab. But I like the idea of the honey mustard sauce!
    P.S. I like your multicoloured corn! I haven’t seen that here.

    • delightfullyteal September 3, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      Thanks! I had tried cornflake crumbs before too but also liked the idea of the honey mustard sauce.
      And the corn was delicious. Sometimes it is more yellow and sometimes like this. Weird.

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

