30 by 30 {run the bcs 5k}

15 Sep

 

Today was the day. Today was the 5k that I have been training so hard for. In May I could barely run 3 minutes. Today I ran the entire 5k without stopping in a little under 30 minutes! I was so proud of myself.
We put together a team to run in honor of my grandmother, DeDe, who passed away in February from breast cancer. So we made Team DeDe. There were 8 fabulous people running for the team.

The whole team finished in 40 minutes or under! I am so proud of everyone because everyone has been working so hard. We killed it!

We were all sweaty when we were done but so excited for each other in accomplishing everything we did.

There is a big pink fire truck that comes to certain events. You can sign the truck in remembrance of people or in celebration or for whatever reason you want. DeDe signed the truck last year, right on the gas cap door, and we all signed around it.

I’m so glad everyone was able to make it to run with the team. It meant a lot to me and I know it meant a lot to my mom to have us all there.

It was supposed to rain this morning and there was a big line of rain coming right towards us. Right before the race started, the line broke right in the middle, right where we were. I know it was DeDe giving us some good weather for the race. It ended up being a beautiful day.

I love all of these people and I’m so glad that we were all able to run the race for such a good cause. It is an amazing feeling to accomplish so much and do it with my favorite people.
I miss DeDe every day and I am proud to do something like this in her honor. I know she is proud of me.

 

 

11 Responses to “30 by 30 {run the bcs 5k}”

  1. Urban Running Girl September 15, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    DeDe would be very proud. Congratulations!

  2. hannah September 16, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous. What a fantastic way to honor her. And i LOVE that she left her mark on the truck too. You really were all there together that day. Well done on the running too, amazing!

    • delightfullyteal September 16, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

      Thanks Hannah! We definitely were all together and it was perfect. 🙂

  3. bostonceltics34 September 16, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    I am so happy I ran the race! It was for an amazing cause and for an amazing women! Your mom did an amazing job putting that together! You did amazing on the run! I love you girlie!

    • bostonceltics34 September 16, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

      Clearly amazing was the word of the post:)

      • delightfullyteal September 16, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

        Clearly! hahaha. I’m so happy you ran it too! We all did an amazing job! It was a perfect way to honor DeDe!! Thank you for being a part of it. Love you!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 by 30 {1 year update} | delightfully teal - February 22, 2013

    […] 19. run the BCS 5k {completed 9.15.12} […]

  2. 30 by 30 {halfway point update} | live happy - August 19, 2013

    […] run the BCS 5k {completed 9.15.12} […]

  3. team dede runs again | live happy - October 11, 2013

    […] year I ran the CelebratePink 5k as part of my 30 by 30 list. This is the 5k that my mom puts together as a fundraiser for her organization My Breast Cancer […]

  4. 30 by 30 {2 year update} | live happy - February 25, 2014

    […] run the BCS 5k {completed 9.15.12} […]

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

