pinned it. tried it. {do it yourself: painted canvas quote}

30 Sep
I found this DIY project on A Beautiful Mess a while ago and pinned it. It has been something I wanted to try but just haven’t gotten around to it.

Last week I finally got around to looking for  vinyl letters to use and Michaels. I wasn’t sure if I could use the permanent adhesive ones or the repositional ones. All they had in the size I wanted was the permanent ones so I decided to wait. I wasn’t sure they would come off the canvas. At Target the other day, I saw these letters and thought they would be perfect, especially because one package came with 2 sizes and it was only $2.99. (When I looked back at the blog post after I noticed that she used permanent ones so I guess either would work. Oh well) I already had a canvas and paint, so I was ready to go.

Dan and I decided on paint colors together that we thought would look good in our space. The first thing I did was cut out the letters that I needed so I could place them out on the canvas and see how they fit. I decided on green and pink stripes for underneath the letters. Then I peeled the letters and stuck them on the canvas where I wanted them.

I let the stripes completely dry before starting with the purple. I had to do 6 coats of purple in order to cover the color of the stripes. I like that you can still kind of see the texture of the stripes but I didn’t want to see the color at all. Once the purple was dry, I peeled the letters off so you could see the stripes underneath.

The purple bled under the edges of the letters a little but I actually like it better than if all the edges were perfect. I love the way this turned out. I love the colors and stripes. I think it looks really cool.

I think this was a fairly easy project to do. I have tons of canvases and lots and lots of quotes that I love. I can’t wait to make more of these. I think they would also make great presents.
What do you guys think?
4 Responses to “pinned it. tried it. {do it yourself: painted canvas quote}”

  1. bostonceltics34 September 30, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    I think that it would be an amazing gifts to give. Great idea Britt!

  2. Hannah September 30, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    What a cool idea! Easy yet so effective. You clever duck! I’m keen to start some projects hopefully soon, but I want to paint the place first. Procrastinating probably 😉

    • delightfullyteal October 2, 2012 at 6:56 am #

      Thanks! I completely understand about procrastination. haha. Not like you don’t have other stuff going on…

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

