fun at school {crazy holidays}

3 Oct

 

You know how every single day of the year has some crazy or silly or weird or stupid holiday? Well, I always thought it would be fun to celebrate something every day when I have my own classroom. Something a little different to add to the day.
I don’t have my own classroom yet, but the other day I was looking up some of these crazy holidays. I probably won’t do one every day but I think  I can celebrate some of these days now, during my long term sub job. I noticed that October 2nd was National Custodial Workers Day. We decided to have the kids make thank you cards for the custodians at our school. We’re taking NECAPs this week anyway so this was a good filler activity for the little bit of time after testing.

So I think when there is a fun day that is appropriate for school, I will write it on the board. Some days we might be able to do some kind of activity for it. Other days might just be so they know what that day is for fun. I think it is a fun thing to do just to mix things up a little.
Is this stupid? Or fun? Or what do you think?

 

2 Responses to “fun at school {crazy holidays}”

  1. Hannah R October 3, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    That’s just brilliant Brittany. I would never have thought of it. And what a pleasant surprise when the ‘custodians’ get these cards. You’re helping the kids to think of others and definitely mix things up a bit. Just brilliant!

    • delightfullyteal October 4, 2012 at 6:56 am #

      Thanks Hannah! You are so sweet. I wasn’t sure if I was being weird or stupid by looking up these holidays. haha. Thank you so much.

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

