pinned it. tried it. {recipe: buffalo chicken grilled cheese}

14 Oct

I found this recipe on Pinterest and basically had to try it right away.

Buffalo Chicken Grilled Cheese Sandwich by Closet Cooking

{ingredients}

  • 1/4 cup cooked shredded chicken, warm
  • 1 tablespoon hot sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon mayo (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon carrot, grated
  • 1 tablespoon celery, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon green or red onion, sliced or diced
  • 1 tablespoon blue cheese, room temperature, crumbled
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, room temperature, grated
  • 2 slices bread
  • 1 tablespoon butter, room temperature

{directions}

Servings: makes 1 sandwich

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 10 minutes
Total Time: 15 minutes

  • Mix the chicken, hot sauce, mayo, carrot, celery and onion in a small bowl. (I just used chicken and hot sauce and left out everything else)

  • Butter the outside of each slice of bread, sprinkle half of the cheeses on the inside of one slice of bread, top with the buffalo chicken salad, the remaining cheese and finally the other slice of bread. (The only bread I had was Arnold’s Sandwich Thins which still worked well but I think I would enjoy regular bread better.)

  • Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat.
  • Add the sandwich and grill until golden brown and the cheese has melted, about 2-4 minutes per side.

I love grilled cheese sandwiches and this was an awesome way to change it up a bit. Once I had the cheese and chicken on the 2 slices of bread, I found it a little difficult to put the 2 slices together and get it in the pan without the cheese going everywhere. But in the end, it was delicious and I will definitely do this again.

2 Responses to “pinned it. tried it. {recipe: buffalo chicken grilled cheese}”

  1. bostonceltics34 October 14, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    This looks sooo yummy! Although I wouldn’t put the blue cheese on. I think I will have to try it.

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

