do it yourself {photo frame}

11 Nov

I have been wanting to hang more pictures up around our apartment for a while. Dan isn’t really willing to hang a bunch of pictures up though, because of all the holes he’ll have to fill when we move. So I wanted to come up with a way to hang pictures without actually hanging a bunch of frames.

So thank you Pinterest for, once again, having brilliant ideas for me use.

I found this amazing frame project on Pinterest. It is from the goodwillionaire blog and I loved it as soon as I saw it. I knew it would be perfect for what I wanted.

Now I just needed to find an awesome frame to use and I would be all set.

Finding a frame proved to be a little more difficult. I never saw frames like this at thrift stores. Dan I looked at Home Goods because we have a gift card and we found some that would have worked and we would have only had to pay about $15ish after the gift card. We decided to still keep looking. Our next stop was ReStore, which benefits Habitat for Humanity. We were thinking maybe we could find a cool old window or something. We didn’t find an old window but we came across 2 huge frames for only $5 each! The picture was super ugly and the frame was just a plain wooden frame, already painted my favorite color of teal, but the frame was really big and I knew it would work. So we bought both.

We threw out the pictures and the mats because they were old and dirty. We decided to save the glass just in case we might need it for something in the future. And we pulled out all the staples from the back so we were just left with the frame.

The paint was a little worn out and I didn’t like that you could see a line of unpainted wood on the inside, so I decided to do a quick coat of teal just to clean it up. {I somehow missed taking a picture of the new paint job but the colors were pretty close}

I bought twine to use to hang the pictures on and used a glue gun to attach it to the frame. I spaced each line of twine out by 6 inches so there would be a little space around the pictures. I wanted to use twine because I like the way it looks kind of rustic.

I let the hot glue dry for a couple hours to make sure it was really secure.

I used mini clothespins that I bought at WalMart to attach the pictures to the twine. I had a few wedding pictures that I knew I wanted to include on this so I put those on first. I had just ordered 101 free prints from Shutterfly the day before, so I just had to wait for those to come before I had more pictures to hang.

Last night, when we got home from a long day, there was the orange package from Shutterfly sitting by our mailbox. I knew I wanted to hang more pictures up right away. So, even though I was exhausted, I looked through those pictures and hung more up right away.

I absolutely love the way this turned out. I would love to have a fancier frame at some point but I think this works amazingly until then. I love how easy it will be to change pictures out as we do more activities and want to include those new pictures. And I love love love being able to hang more pictures up without putting tons of holes in the walls.

What do you guys think?

16 Responses to “do it yourself {photo frame}”

  1. Hannah November 11, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    Clever and cute!!!

  2. bostonceltics34 November 11, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    I absolutely love this!!! I want to copy!

  3. Jessie Homemaker November 12, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    This is adorable!! Good job finding the frames! I never realized how expensive frames were!! I got two of my friends these little poster prints for Christmas, and I was looking for some cool frames and I was shocked at how pricey they could be!

    • delightfullyteal November 12, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

      Thanks so much! I know…they are so expensive. It is awful. That is why I was so excited to find these for so cheap. And I will definitely check back there if I’m looking for frames for anything else!

  4. Amanda November 13, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    Super cute sister friend! I like the way you work around the “No Holes” rule your man set out. He’s lucky you’re as sweet as you are, I’d be hanging all kinds of shit up when he wasn’t around 😉

    • delightfullyteal November 13, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

      Thanks so much!
      He is very lucky. 🙂 You can bet that when we have a house, I will not be holding back!

      • Lauren Yung September 30, 2016 at 3:17 pm #

        hahaha! i love this idea, and am totally using it 4 my bedroom.

  5. Lauren Yung September 30, 2016 at 3:16 pm #

    Really cute. I’m gonna use it 4 my room!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Easy DIY Photo Frame Designs - Interior Decorating, Home Design, Room Ideas - January 13, 2014

    […] This is a similar example but the frame here is bigger. It allows you to display more photos. You could use the frame from an old painting or you could also try using a window.{found on delightfullyteal}. […]

  2. Few Easy DIY Photo Frame Designs | SHDI ツ ツ - January 14, 2014

    […] This is a similar example but the frame here is bigger. It allows you to display more photos. You could use the frame from an old painting or you could also try using a window.{found on delightfullyteal}. […]

  3. 70 DIY Photo frames | Rilane - We Aspire to Inspire - May 23, 2014

    […] Frames 43.DIY Sparkly Photo Frames | 44.Decorating with black and white photos with frame 45.Do it yourself {photo frame} | 46.DIY Shabby Chic White Frame For Wall Display 47.Diy Picture Frame.. | 48.DIY Coaster Photo […]

  4. 10 Easy DIY Photo Frame Designs - June 8, 2014

    […] This is a similar example but the frame here is bigger. It allows you to display more photos. You could use the frame from an old painting or you could also try using a window.{found on delightfullyteal}. […]

  5. 10 Easy DIY Photo Frame Designs - DIY Crafts Home - June 2, 2015

    […] This is an identical instance however the body right here is greater. It lets you show extra photographs. You might use the body from an previous portray or you possibly can additionally attempt utilizing a window.discovered on delightfullyteal. […]

  6. 31 Cool and Crafty DIY Picture Frames - DIY Projects for Teens - September 26, 2016

    […] delightfullyteal […]

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

