christmas parade and family time

27 Dec

I am currently on vacation from school so I’m going to try and catch up on some posts.

The Sunday after Thanksgiving, my mom’s side of the family always gets together. We go to the Christmas parade in Dover and eat and spend time together. This year was no different. The only person who couldn’t be there was my cousin Joe because he had to head back to school in West Virginia.

We all got to my grandfather’s house and hung out for a little bit. Then we got bundled up and went to stand in our usual spot to watch the parade. The parade seemed shorter this year but we still had fun. And Santa was great. This parade always has a great Santa at the end.

Picture1

On our walk back to the car, we decided to take a little detour. My grandparents used to live right by this museum with a cannon outside. We always used to climb on the cannon and we would pretend that we were shooting off somewhere amazing. We walked right by so we decided to recreate our climbing. It was a little harder now that we’re a little older but it was still fun and we laughed like crazy.

Picture5

After our little detour, we went back to my grandfather’s to decorate the tree and eat some food. My mom always puts the lights on the tree, because she is amazing at it.

Picture2

Then my cousin Julia and I always do the ornaments. The boys never want to help decorate. We always have a lot of fun with it.

Picture3This was a little harder this year because my grandmother wasn’t around and she always helped us with the decorating. We decided to do the angel for the top of the tree together.

Picture4

We wanted to make sure we got some family pictures of everyone together. I wish Joe had been there but we still got some amazing pictures. We set the timer on our camera so everyone could be in the pictures. My grandfather is sitting right in the center and his face never changes, even with all the craziness going on around him. I love our family.

Picture6

This year is definitely a lot harder not having my grandmother around, but I feel like it has brought our family closer together. We’re making sure to take even more pictures and spend even more time together. These are some of my favorite people in the whole world and I’m so lucky to be able to spend so much of my time with them and to call them family.

 

2 Responses to “christmas parade and family time”

  1. Hannah January 1, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    What a beautiful family you have! You all look so happy together.. very blessed.

thanks for stopping by to leave me some love. <3

